Online Boxing Storage

Buy Boxing Equipments and Accessories from Pro Boxing Gear and save 15% with free shipping.

Sep 24, 2010

Pietersen included in England squad for Ashes Series

The England selectors named a 16-member tour party under the captaincy of Andrew Strauss for the Ashes Test series in Australia with faster Chris Tremlett and spinner Monty Panesar both recalled to the test squad.

Tremlett, who won the last of his 3 Test caps against India in 2007, is recalled to the England set-up for the 1st time since the tour of New Zealand in 2008, while Monty Panesar wins a place in the tour party after a successful domestic season which saw him take 52 first-class wickets for his Sussex team.

Surrey's Steven Davies has been named as England's deputy wicketkeeper behind Sussex's Matt Prior and is the only member of the squad uncapped at Test Cricket level.

Also included in the team was the high profile Kevin Pietersen, who had tired a brief spell out of the team through the limited-overs matches against Pakistan.

The selectors also named 11 players to be awarded 12-month England central contracts with Warwickshire's Jonathan Trott and Middlesex pace bowler Steven Finn each winning a central contract for the first time. A further five players have been awarded incremental contracts.

England Ashes Squad: Andrew Strauss (c), Alastair Cook, Chris Tremlett, Eoin Morgan, Graeme Swann, Ian Bell, James Anderson, Jonathan Trott, Kevin Pietersen, Matt Prior, Monty Panesar, Paul Collingwood, Steve Davies, Steven Finn, Stuart Broad, Tim Bresnan

No comments:

Post a Comment